[SEE TWEET] See The World’s Reaction On Nelson Mandela’s Death

Mandela, who was imprisoned for 27 years by the Apartheid regime in South Africa before becoming the nation’s first
democratic president, used sport to unite the country – most notably during the 1995 Rugby World Cup when he famously wore a Springbok jersey when handing the trophy to Francois Pienaar.
“I’ve been very blessed,” said Pienaar.

“I was at the right place at the right
time, more so than any Rugby World Cup
captain before me and after me.

“What he did for the team was. wonderful
to watch – that air of
confidence that he brought with him and
that unbelievable humility that Madiba
had is something that rubbed off.

“I never thought he would wear a
Springbok jersey – most people would
have worn a suit but he realised we were
playing for the whole country.”

IRB Chairman Bernard Lapasset, echoed
Pienaars comments
saying:

“Mr Mandela was a truly remarkable man.

“I was honoured to be with him during
the historic days of Rugby World Cup 1995
and saw his incredible impact on his
nation and his people.
“His wisdom, intelligence and sheer
presence was a wonder to
behold.”

A minute’s applause will take place at all football matches in the Premier League, Football League and FA Cup this weekend to mark the passing of Mandela.
Three time world heavyweight champion Muhammad Ali paid
tribute on his website. “What I will
remember most about Mr Mandela is that he was a man whose heart, soul and spirit
could not be contained or restrained by racial and economic injustices, metal bars
or the burden of hate and revenge.’

Pele has also paid his respects – he
tweeted:

“Today, I am very saddened. Nelson
Mandela was one of the most. influential
people in my life.”

Tiger Woods was playing in the World
Challenge golf when he heard the news.

“I had a chance to meet him with my
father in 1998,”

he said.

“He invited us to his home and it was
one of the most inspiring times of my life
and it’s a sad day for many people around
the world.”

Cristiano Ronaldo tweeted his respects
with a picture of himself and Mandela.

“Thankful Madiba for your legacy and
your example. You”ll always stay. with us”

Usain Bolt called Mandela

“One of the greatest human beings ever.
May your soul rest in peace. The world’s
greatest fighter”.

FIFA have ordered flags to be flown at half-
mast and a minute’s silence to be held
before the next round of international
matches.

FIFA president Sepp Blatter said: “It is in
deep mourning that I pay my respects to
an extraordinary person, probably one of
the greatest humanists of our time and a
dear friend of mine.”

“When he was cheered at Johannesburg’s
Soccer City stadium
at the World Cup, it was as a man of the
people, a man of their hearts, and it was
one of the most moving moments I have
ever experienced.”

FA Chairman Greg Dyke led the tributes
from British football.

“Nelson Mandela had that amazing ability
to live through real injustice,” he said.
“He was one of the greatest men of any
generation. Partly because of what he
achieved but more so for his ability to
forgive.”

Former England cricket captain Sir Ian
Botham, met Mandela and described him as
“a remarkable man”.

“I’ll always remember when he put his
arm around me and thanked me for my
stance against Apartheid,” he told. Sky
Sports.

“I was flattered by that as I hadn’t
realised how much it meant to so. many people.
“It’s a very sad day, not just for. South
Africa but for the world.”

Post 4rm Bewi
ff @iam_bewi

Add Admin 26DD58ED

Leave a comment